An open letter to the Lib Dems

A few of you already know me, most probably don’t, but I just thought I’d write you an alternative letter to Andy Burnham’s regarding the Health and Social Care Bill – or the ‘NHS Bill’, as its come to be known.

Firstly, I’d like to apologise.

I’m a Labour member, but I have been saddened to see the myriad of personal attacks aimed at you all based on something you have not been involved in (not until now, anyway).

You don’t deserve the harsh words and I’d like to think my party were better than that. Sometimes, though, people don’t live up to the standards you’d like them to.

But then, your MPs haven’t exactly treated you well either – Andrew Stunnell’s comments, for example, make a mockery of the structures and systems that set your party apart from the rest in terms of collective democracy.

The truth is, blatant tribalism will only encourage latent tribalism – if we insult you, you’ll be more likely to close ranks and do the opposite of what we say.

And that’s another problem, too – people *telling* you to do something. It’s not very democratic really, is it?

So, here’s my request:

Before your emergency motion is debated, please read up on the Bill; see why it causes concern to some but encourages support from others. Use your own judgement to make the decision you think is right.

Personally, I think there are too many grey areas/cons to make the few good ideas worth pursuing, and so that’s why I wouldn’t support it.

But I am me and you are you.

I’d like to think we’d come to the same conclusions but, if we don’t, then that’s OK too – disappointing, but OK. I won’t hate you, I won’t issue ridiculous pledges (you of all people should know how well they work) and I won’t wage war on you and your family; I’ll just be disappointed that you made (in my opinion) a very big error in judgement.

At the end of the day, all any of us can do is what we think is right. I just hope that, on this, we will all come down on the same side.

About Stackee

All you need is love. Well, that, and ice cream, beaches, Sci-Fi and pi(e). Perhaps water too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

