“I am speaking to you this afternoon about something Harriet Harman knows absolutely nothing about: equality.”

Harriet Harman

Harriet Harman

I’m quite a pessimistic person by nature, so many things disappoint me in life – war, prejudice, my team losing a game, not getting the toy I wanted in a Kinder Egg… but at the moment, the one at the forefront is campaigning under the guise of ‘equality’.

Yes, Harriet Harman, I’m looking at you.

Before I go on, you should know:
I am not a Tory, nor have anything against the Labour Party. I am female. I am 25. I believe everybody should be treated equal. I work in a male-dominated environment (and I think they all rock).

Yes, we have calendars that contain female nudity – but we also have male calendars in the same vein –  and in no way do I feel down-trodden or persecuted because of my gender, my age, my race or even for the fact I like to wear hideously garish socks into the office.

I am, however, offended that people such as Harman feel the need to tell me what I should and shouldn’t think is acceptable in my own workplace. Each environment has to be judged on its own merits – you wouldn’t allow pictorial nudity in a nursery, but what about at a photography studio? Short skirts and high heels are not appropriate if arguing a court case, but what if you are a fashion model or designer?

There are women who DO need the help these staunch feminists seem to want to give – those who are afraid to take maternity leave in case they lose their jobs; who are paid less than their male counterparts; whose ideas are dismissed offhand purely because they are female. And I strongly support anyone who can make their lives easier.

So why, then, do these select groups of women (and men) championed by the likes of Harriet Harman spend their time trying to tell us all what to do and how to feel? Why not focus on the real issues, and not the ones they decide are the big issues – What about single fathers, Harriet? What about men who want better paternity leave and flexi-time for when their children are sick and want daddy, not mummy? If we are advocating true equality, why are you not speaking up for the men of the world, too?

Can they not see they are hindering not helping those who have gotten so far already in their quest for equality?

Her targeting of the Sun’s page 3 in relation to equality was a silly move and proves my point – it is a kop-out people use because they are not seeing the bigger picture; it’s easier to focus on young women who choose to do what they do because it offends your delicate sensibilities than to get out there and see what the real problems are.

There is a time and a place to play the sexist card, and Harman got it totally and utterly wrong. Is this really the kind of person Labour want to reach out to the people when she doesn’t even understand the people she represents?

If they are to have any chance in this coming election then they need to seriously consider their choice to let Harman speak.

About Stackee

All you need is love. Well, that, and ice cream, beaches, Sci-Fi and pi(e). Perhaps water too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “I am speaking to you this afternoon about something Harriet Harman knows absolutely nothing about: equality.”

  1. nathalie says:

    I think I mostly agree with this. While I think that the objectification of women is still a problem, I don’t think we can solve it by complaining about Page 3; it’s probably destined to always be a fact of our culture and the best thing to do is to objectify more men.😄

    I read an article on BBC News about this and the impression I got was that she was saying the Sun’s articles generally are not pro-women. I don’t feel I can comment on this, but the Page 3 analogy probably didn’t help.

    • Stackee says:

      I think her quote was along the lines of “the closest they get to news analysis is Page 3’s News in Briefs” which has nothing to do with pro-women writing and more to do with the fact she was annoyed they decided to support the Tories and hit out in any way possible.

      I think she has very little grasp on reality at the moment, and the mish-mash of insults slung at The Sun and all other organisations over the last few months lead me to believe she’s not even sure what she’s fighting for herself…

Leave a Reply

